nav search
Data Centre Software Security DevOps Business Personal Tech Science Emergent Tech Bootnotes
BOFH
Lectures

Forums Data Centre → Virtualization

E pluribus unum

In 2018, Facebook is the villain and Microsoft the shining light, according to techies

62 posts, Latest by jake at Wednesday 12th December 2018 17:15 GMT

VMware's latest financial figures look virtually healthy if you page out Pivotal cash-splash loss

3 posts, Latest by Mr.Nobody at Monday 3rd December 2018 16:10 GMT

Microsoft snaps up FSLogix to paint go-faster stripes on virtualized Office

4 posts, Latest by Ragarath at Wednesday 21st November 2018 17:12 GMT

The Register translates VMware's VMworld Europe 2018 news into plain English – our free guide for every reader

18 posts, Latest by CRConrad at Thursday 8th November 2018 17:49 GMT

Tax me if you can: VMware UK tosses shrunken offering to HMRC

28 posts, Latest by LucreLout at Tuesday 6th November 2018 10:45 GMT

Slow your roll: VMware urges admins to apply workarounds to DoS-inducing 3D render vuln

2 posts, Latest by amanfromMars 1 at Monday 15th October 2018 06:17 GMT

Still holding out on Windows 10? Microsoft tempts upgrade with virtual desktop to Azure

25 posts, Latest by Sixtysix at Thursday 27th September 2018 09:22 GMT

Click your heels, um, mouse thrice and you've quickly got Ubuntu on Hyper-V in Win 10 Pro

21 posts, Latest by Jason Hindle at Friday 21st September 2018 16:06 GMT

VMware 'pressured' hotel to shut down tech event close to VMworld, IGEL sues resort giant

93 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Tuesday 4th September 2018 23:31 GMT

Analysts gawp at network function virtualization through rose-tinted specs

1 posts, Latest by Will Godfrey at Wednesday 29th August 2018 13:14 GMT

It's 2018 – so, of course, VMware is touting open-source blockchain code, Internet-of-Things tools

2 posts, Latest by deive at Wednesday 29th August 2018 15:28 GMT

ESXi on Arm? Yes, ESXi on Arm. VMware teases bare-metal hypervisor for 64-bit Arm servers

13 posts, Latest by andreiw at Thursday 30th August 2018 07:50 GMT

Sysadmin sank IBM mainframe by going one VM too deep

238 posts, Latest by Mandoscottie at Tuesday 13th November 2018 17:46 GMT

QEMU Qicks out release Qandidate, new Qadence for version 3.0.0

1 posts, Latest by Waseem Alkurdi at Monday 16th July 2018 07:05 GMT

Desktop hypervisor fiends. Both of you. VMware's testing a new cut of Workstation

7 posts, Latest by FIA at Friday 13th July 2018 13:40 GMT

Xen 4.11 debuts new ‘PVH’ guest type, for the sake of security

7 posts, Latest by hack3rcon at Saturday 14th July 2018 06:18 GMT

Google’s Android Emulator gains AMD and Hyper-V support

4 posts, Latest by teknopaul at Tuesday 10th July 2018 18:55 GMT

Xen 4.11 is over a month late and its devs are mostly cool with that

1 posts, Latest by big_D at Thursday 5th July 2018 06:32 GMT

Wait, what? Citrix Receiver sessions run on crocked crypto!

4 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Tuesday 12th June 2018 00:34 GMT

VMware preps NSX network virtualization for smaller customers

2 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Sunday 3rd June 2018 20:56 GMT

VMware declares energy-guzzling blockchains 'immoral'

17 posts, Latest by returnofthemus at Friday 1st June 2018 11:32 GMT

Open Source MANO Release FOUR lands

2 posts, Latest by Robert Carnegie at Thursday 24th May 2018 16:39 GMT

Red Hat's CloudForms to slum it by wrangling boring old VMs

2 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Thursday 24th May 2018 19:21 GMT

VMware to finally deliver full-function HTML5 vSphere client

37 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Wednesday 16th May 2018 06:35 GMT

Virtual desktops won’t save cash in clouds or on-prem. So why care?

16 posts, Latest by Prof. William Waterman Sherman at Thursday 3rd May 2018 12:01 GMT

Xen turns it up to 4.11 and shrinks itself to contain containers

3 posts, Latest by larsk at Wednesday 25th April 2018 15:07 GMT

Forking hell! VMware now has TWO current versions of vSphere

2 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Wednesday 18th April 2018 12:51 GMT

Application publishing gets the WebAssembly treatment

10 posts, Latest by Deltics at Tuesday 10th April 2018 20:10 GMT

VMware vids revealing new vSphere vanish

2 posts, Latest by TonyJ at Monday 9th April 2018 06:49 GMT

VMware's cloud migration play beams down whole data centres

3 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Thursday 8th March 2018 13:20 GMT

Open source XenServer project is go after crushing crowdcash call

4 posts, Latest by Fennings at Tuesday 22nd May 2018 08:12 GMT

You can survive the migration from Windows vCenter server

13 posts, Latest by dipopo at Thursday 24th May 2018 12:07 GMT

VMware might just have cracked the container market with NSX

2 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Friday 2nd March 2018 15:36 GMT

Microsoft to make Ubuntu a first-class guest under Hyper-V

33 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Friday 9th March 2018 11:16 GMT

Roses are red, violets are blue, VMware's made a new vSphere for you

7 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Monday 19th February 2018 09:06 GMT

Laggard Cisco stumbles over, puffing: 'HyperFlex now supports Hyper-V'

12 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Sunday 28th January 2018 15:39 GMT

STOP! It's dangerous to upgrade to VMware 6.5 alone. Read this

39 posts, Latest by Franco at Sunday 28th January 2018 14:50 GMT

Have three WINEs this weekend, because WINE 3.0 has landed

54 posts, Latest by d3vy at Wednesday 14th February 2018 13:14 GMT

VMware’s NSX world domination plan advances with not-just-point release

1 posts, Latest by ysfbuy75 at Friday 19th January 2018 10:01 GMT

Developer plots server virtualization comeback for XenServer

12 posts, Latest by hack3rcon at Saturday 27th January 2018 05:45 GMT

VMware: New year, new job – you're fired

16 posts, Latest by Gigabob at Friday 26th January 2018 21:56 GMT

VMware: Sure, you might run our stuff on bare-metal Azure, but we don't have to like it

11 posts, Latest by TheVogon at Friday 22nd December 2017 08:29 GMT

Xen Project says new version 4.10 has found balance between security and novelty

4 posts, Latest by hack3rcon at Saturday 20th January 2018 20:06 GMT

VMware UK boss quits 'suddenly' – sources

11 posts, Latest by TheBorg at Wednesday 6th December 2017 11:59 GMT

Delphix sends database virtualization sailing up the Amazon

2 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Saturday 2nd December 2017 15:41 GMT

Citrix cracks Windows Store's monopoly on Windows 10 S apps

20 posts, Latest by bombastic bob at Monday 4th December 2017 21:05 GMT

VMware crushes another quarter, with help from $100m DXC deal

1 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Friday 1st December 2017 23:13 GMT

Microsoft postpones VMware-on-Azure details release by two weeks

2 posts, Latest by Walter Bishop at Tuesday 28th November 2017 23:05 GMT

VMware refuses to support its wares running in Azure

20 posts, Latest by Anonymous Coward at Monday 27th November 2017 17:30 GMT

Xen Project's plan after AWS goes KVM: Talk up embedded future

20 posts, Latest by hack3rcon at Sunday 21st January 2018 10:25 GMT

Page:

The Register - Independent news and views for the tech community. Part of Situation Publishing