back to article Should all hard drives be encrypted?

Given the origins of computing in the coding and decoding of messages, it’s fair to say that the heritage of encryption is as noteworthy as what we now call IT. Indeed the principles of algorithmic codification of data, and the maths behind them, go back way beyond the illustrious efforts of Alan Turing and his ilk in the Second …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Support Overhead...

IWhere I work in the public sector we have all laptops encrypted, and no remote reset capability for the passwords, since its too much of a potential security breach. Fair enough, but this all generates some tens of support calls per week, and have to involve laptop owner lising with an engineer to meet up at an appropriate location so there's physical access to reset he password. The extra support overhead is getting worryingly significant, not to mention the productivity loss whilst the machine is unusable.

1. Steve Barnett
      Troll

Use Biometrics

It's not as if the technology doesn't exist

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

just tell them

that if they forget the password, they're fired.

I don't phone up my boss every 5 minutes moaning that I've forgotten how to do my job and need to be retrained. So why should I see it acceptable to phone him up asking for a new password all the time?

I have to remember dozens of codes and passwords and I don't complain. It's called being a professional.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Unhappy

Yeah, it should be done but.....

Well, at my company all laptops need to be encrypted. We used whole disk encryption, so you need to enter a password in order to boot the machine. Seemed relatively painless. However, if your hard drive crashes (been there, done that) life gets complex in a hurry.