back to article Prof develops football-match scheduling software

A computer-sciences prof in Notttingham says he has developed software which can solve one of the knottiest problems facing humanity at present - that of scheduling football matches. “The biggest difficulties occur at Christmas and New Year when the top clubs play at least twice over the holiday period," says Professor Graham …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. RichyS
    Pint

Ceci n'est pas une title.

This was a pretty standard 2nd year software engineering group project when I was at Nottingham. I think Prof Kendall set it every year. And I graduated in 2002.

Looks like one of those groups finally came up with a half decent solution...

Beer: 'cos that's what Uni's really about...

2. Anonymous Coward
    Badgers

Meanwhile

In the world of sixth forms, for many years this has been a standby project for people who can't find a real project for their coursework... I therefore imagine that there are thousands of other programs that do the same thing, should the FA want to take a look.

3. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge
    Thumb Up

They are waiting for you, Gordon... in the TEST CHAMBER

Not exactly an NP hard crack, but still useful.

4. Code Monkey

More complex

It's probably a lot more complex in reality than our boffin has realised. The beeb covered this before this season's fixtures came out.

As an example Norwich being home or away can affect the fixture-scheduling as far away as West Ham (seriously - read the article below).

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/paulfletcher/2009/06/secrets_of_the_fixture_compute.html?page=18

5. Steve Davies 3 Silver badge
    Boffin

About time too...

My only question is if this software will avoid something like Plymouth vs Darlington or Gillinghan vs Carlisle on Boxing Day when there are No frigging trains running or at New Year when Notwork Rail seem to want to dig up every railway line in the country.

6. Anonymous Coward