back to article Yer a solicitor, 'arry! Indian uni takes cues from 'Potterverse' to teach students law

What can identity and class rights as seen in the enslavement of house elves or the marginalisation of werewolves, giants and centaurs possibly teach India's future legal eagles? One institution believes it has the answer. West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences in Kolkata is due to launch a module titled "An …

1. macjules
    Happy

Let's hope that ..

They learn the differences between demurrer and dementor or indeed malfeasance and Malfoy,

2. Snorlax Silver badge
    WTF?

Smh

"When the course kicks off, those lucky lawyers-in-waiting can expect to examine topics not limited to..."

Is this part of a real law degree? Sounds more like one of those wank elective modules business students take to pad out their credits for a semester...

1. hmv

Re: Smh

You've missed the point. Try reading the whole article.

3. LegalAlien

Not as crazy as it sounds...

I studied law at Durham, when some of the Harry Potter were being filmed... but anyway there's plenty of scope for creative legal thinking in the Potterverse... do users of magic owe a special duty of care to people around them? If a dangerous substance/item/troll escapes and causes carnage, who is responsible? Is there a product defect with a wand that causes havoc? Is the manufacturer of the wand liable, or the retailer in Diagon Alley? The nice thing about studying law is that when you learn about defining legal cases, it's often because some very strange things have happened to people, who have gone to court to argue about who's at fault! ... or whether you can kill a cabin boy if you need to eat him to survive when marooned at sea (is "necessity" a defence to murder? Answer: no, but you may get a pardon)

1. Alister

Re: Not as crazy as it sounds...

Is the manufacturer of the wand liable, or the retailer in Diagon Alley?

I believe they are one and the same, Mr Ollivander makes his own stock.