back to article Yale Weds: Just some system maintenance, nothing to worry about. Yale Thurs: Nobody's smart alarm app works

Yale Security UK says it is repairing its online systems after some unplanned maintenance turned into a total outage – and prevented folks from controlling their Yale smart home alarms via its smartphone app. The locksmith said it was working through the night into Friday morning to address the gremlins that had left its users …

1. Phil Kingston

lock escalation?

1. A Non e-mouse Silver badge

Lock contention?

1. doublelayer Silver badge

Deadlock?

1. Muscleguy

Dreadlock?

2. tfewster
    Facepalm

"I’m an engineer, I work in IT..." - and PJMorgan never considered what would happen if he lost his phone/signal/cloudy app? Personally, I'd be keeping very quiet if I'd allowed that to happen to me.

1. Phil Kingston

I also wonder why he didn't just enter the property, trigger the alarm, and then simply silence the alarm with PIN/fob/whatever.

2. A Non e-mouse Silver badge
      Joke

I think he's suffering from priority inversion...

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Beat me to it. If I had a resume from this guy and googled him and found that tweet his resume would go into the circular file. What a moron!

What was his plan to "enter his property" if his phone was lost, stolen, broken or out of battery?

1. SloppyJesse
        Facepalm

> What was his plan to "enter his property" if his

> phone was lost, stolen, broken or out of battery?

Backup phone fully charged with the app installed underneath the dustbin, obviously. The guy's not a complete idiot...

4. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

He must be very new at this IT work thing... Because it shouldn't take that long to notice how fragile a lot of that IT stuff is.

5. rmason

@tfewster

Came here to say that too.

"I work in IT and decided ONLY having access to my property via an app was a good idea"

What an absolute sponge.

6. Down not across