back to article More than a third of Euro IT pros worry about keeping server lights on

Half of senior IT bods across Europe agree that their departments are struggling to cope with new tech while keeping core gear running, according a recent survey. IT is being set up to fail because it has to serve competing demands without enough resources to effectively support the organisation... The wave of "innovation" …

1. WibbleMe

Experience ruining a small group of VPS server for eCommerce website as a web developer, I can tell you that they always go down when its the weekend and you have to restart them on your own time.

Seriously just let some one else who is actually a full time server engineer worry about upgrades and keeping lights on.

1. jake Silver badge

Yep.

"Experience ruining a small group of VPS server for eCommerce website as a web developer"

That's been my experience with "web developers" trying to "help" with the hardware, too.

2. Phil O'Sophical Silver badge

some of it is self-inflicted

they always go down when its the weekend and you have to restart them on your own time.

And that is why the problem exists.

If you tell your bosses that you don't have enough resources, and yet still manage to keep things running because you beg/steal/borrow resources and time from somewhere else, your bosses will never believe you.

Of couse while "going that extra mile" to recover from some occasional disaster is part of the job, there's nothing heroic about doing it regularly. That just sets you up to fail.

If you don't have resources to run some new service, and the boss insists on it anyway, then get your objections down in writing and let, say, the monthly billing cycle fail due to overload. Anything else is simply demonstrating that you do actually have the resources, even if they are overworked and unpaid ones.

2. jake Silver badge

So, paraphrasing ...