back to article Amazon probes alleged bribery of staffers for data on e-tail platform

Amazon is investigating reports that its retail employees are selling internal data and reviewers' email addresses to merchants that want to game the system. The allegations, reported by The Wall Street Journal yesterday, come from insiders at Jeff Bezos' firm and sellers who said they had been offered, or purchased, such data …

1. Terry 6 Silver badge

You pay peanuts

And you know the rest.

2. Fatman
    Stop

"Reviews" on e commerce sites

A simple rule to follow:

Never believe that the review posted is both fair and accurate, and always assume it is a paid placement.

You can not go wrong if you follow that example.

1. paulf
      Pirate

Re: "Reviews" on e commerce sites

The problem is the reviews you never get to see because they were deleted before you got there.

I've been mentioning this in El Reg comments for a few years now when Amazon's marketplace comes up in a story. I'm just an average Joe in the street and I get requests to remove negative reviews: both items and sellers. In one case a seller called me up one evening out of the blue and offered a 50% rebate on the item if I retracted a negative review which stated the item sent mismatched the listing photo (while the item sent still did the job and this was acknowledged in the review it didn't reflect the picture and as it was £7 it wasn't worth sending back). Amazon do obscure buyer's email addresses but phone numbers are provided as part of the invoice and delivery details (along with your invoice and delivery addresses).

I always decline such requests as deleting justified negative reviews undermines the whole review system but I'm sure there are others who are more easily tempted by refunds and the like.

One thing is certain - Amazon will not deal with this problem - they'll only do enough to make it look like they're dealing with the problem.

3. Spazturtle Silver badge