back to article Gov.UK to make its lovely HTML exportable as parlous PDFs

The UK’s Government Digital Service (GDS) has revealed it’s working on a tool that will export its web pages as PDFs. News of the effort comes at the end of a post that spends most of its time slagging off PDFs. “Compared with HTML content, information published in a PDF is harder to find, use and maintain,” wrote GDS …

1. AlgernonFlowers4

Print to PDF

On webpage press Ctrl-P to Print, Select PDF as target printer and save as a file (.pdf)

1. cbars Bronze badge

Re: Print to PDF

I think the key word is accessible. I'm not an expert but I imagine you need to structure the metadata in a particular format to make screen readers understand it; perhaps there is a dev around with a more technically complete answer....

1. deive

Did this almost 15 years ago now, it is dumb, for the reasons stated, however I used https://xmlgraphics.apache.org/fop/ and it wasn't too hard. If your source is pretty well standardised....

2. A Non e-mouse Silver badge

The problem with Ctrl-P is that many smart-arsed web designers implement different style sheets for print and screen because they think they know better. (Our in-house templates, for example, include the URL to links when printing web pages out.)

The most reliable way I've found to print out a web page is, unfortunately, to screen shot it.

3. stephanh

You can even automate this with Chrome, since it can be invoked from the command line.

chrome --headless --disable-gpu --print-to-pdf https://www.theregister.co.uk/

See also: https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2017/04/headless-chrome#create_a_pdf_dom

4. Anonymous Coward Silver badge
      WTF?

The issue isn't the generation of the PDF file. It's that they need to format the HTML in particular ways so that the generated PDF is accessible, functional, etc.