back to article CEST la vie, IR35 workers: HMRC sets out stall for ignoring Mutuality of Obligation

HMRC has attracted further ire from contractors affected by plans to squeeze them for a bit more tax under IR35 rules. After considerable prodding by contractor consultancies and other groups including freelance advisory service ContractorCalculator.co.uk, the tax agency last week released a new paper on Mutuality of …

1. jmch Silver badge

where does MOO fit in?

"In employment law, it (MOO) refers to the obligation of the employer to provide work and the employee to accept it. A contract obliges the employer to pay and the employee to do the work."

Hmmm, I'm not sure this is very well defined. Even if I am a contractor rather than an employee, I still have a contract that requires me to do some specified work as requested by the client, and for the client to pay for that work. As far as I always understood it, the main differentiators are scope (do I only have 1 client or multiple clients) and assignability of work ie the contract is between the client company and my company, not with me personally, and my company can assign any other person to the task, not necessarily myself.

So where does MOO fit in?

1. OhDearyMe

Re: where does MOO fit in?

@jmch it is about as complicated as you would expect from something never properly legislated but instead built up over years of precedent from previous rulings. IIRC some of the more senior judiciary have publicly thrown their toys out of the pram and asked parliament to clear up the irreconcilable mess that precedent has made of employment status.