back to article Every bloody gadget in the house is ringing. Thanks, EE

"Do not think your house is a hide-out, it is a telephone," complained Ted Hughes in his poem Do Not Pick Up The Telephone, and EE is helping bring that dystopian vision to life. The mobile giant today launched a virtualised number service called Smartnumber, which can transfer calls intended for your primary mobile number to …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Maybe they could fix their fucking billing first ?

Just an idea.

1. MyffyW Silver badge

"The silence depressed me..."

Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Maybe they could fix their fucking billing first ?

Don't be silly, that's how mobile operators work. They change the amount charged by decimal places to make as much money from us peons as they can. I used to work in the mobile industry and saw it first hand. There aren't many people that calculate their bills to the penny.

3. TheVogon

You can already do all of that with Skype. Simply transfer the call to your own Skype user. The mobile client will notify you that it’s transferring the call, and you can pick up the call on another endpoint.

1. Bavaria Blu

Can you really hand off a POTS call made (formerly known as Skype out) from one device to another? Sounds useful. I have noticed Google now has POTS calling in the UK / Europe and it seems to be cheaper than Skype. These days with huge call allowances and calling through whatsapp I don't use normal telephone calls enough to worry much though

1. TheVogon

"Can you really hand off a POTS call made (formerly known as Skype out) from one device to another?"

Yes. It's not 100% seemless - they might get a few seconds of SfB on hold music while you transfer, but you can certainly do it.

4. paulf
      Facepalm

At least you still have online billing in some form.