back to article Don’t talk to the ATM, young man, it’s just a machine and there’s nobody inside

Welcome again to On-Call, The Register’s Friday forage through readers’ memories of tech support jobs that became FUBAR*. This week meet “Robin” who back in the 1980s had a bit to do with a company called “Lion Systems Developments” – or LSD for short. Robin was around when LSD “won the contract to supply the communication …

1. J. R. Hartley

The good old days

Back when PPP over ATM meant someone had pissed on the cash machine.

2. Roger Greenwood

Ah FUBAR

Reminds me of the many shortcut descriptions in the techy field.

As a young apprentice I worked with a guy referred to as Fubsy. His real name was probably Dave, but everyone said "See Fubsy about that ... Fubsy has the key .... Borrow one off Fubsy etc". Took me months to find out FUB meant effing useless bastard.

Surely along with the list of El-Reg standards we should have a list of these many useful acronyms.

A friend of mine has one he calls the WHIP syndrome when he has trouble working out what has gone wrong with some electronic gismo. (What haven't I pressed).

1. Admiral Grace Hopper

Re: Ah FUBAR

I used to work with someone known to all and sundry as "Spof". I assumed that it was a play on "Spock" until I'd worked with him long enough to realise that he was a Single Point Of Failure.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

SPOF should refer to the Customers.

Back in the day, way way back, I was being cross trained on old IBM (IIRC) Cash Machines in a well known High Street Bank.

The Banking Hall had the kit walled off in an enclosure with large mirrors above so anyone could see what was happening inside.

TL tapes an put of order note over the card reader (A4 so noticable.)

As we haul the back off off the cash chutes he points up and says "Watch this."

Cue Customer walking up to said cash machine (powered off) who duly ripped off the A4 and inserted His card.