back to article Want to know what an organisation is really like? Visit the restroom

I like to hang out in company toilets. That's not to say I linger long after the shake-off – I'm no washroom loiterer – but I do enjoy the visit. It's because I am curious. As an itinerant freelancer, my work takes me to a variety of tech-savvy business premises. And while small companies each have their own style of office …

1. Mr Dogshit
    Headmaster

It's not a sink

It's a basin.

1. Commswonk

Re: It's not a sink

Old Joke Alert....

What's the difference between a bison and a buffalo?

You can't wash your hands in a buffalo.

(Well I did warn you...)

2. Boothy

Oxford English Dictionary:

Sink, NOUN :

A fixed basin with a water supply and outflow pipe.

‘I stood at the kitchen sink’

as modifier ‘a sink unit with cupboard and drawers under’

3. Teiwaz

Well, I would't want to wash my hands in the Arctic Basin....bit far away and cold (I would think).

[Monty] Python : 'Universal affirmatives can only be partially converted: all of Alma Cogan is dead, but only some of the class of dead people are Alma Cogan.'

4. Anthony Stark

That's no moon!

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

People who insist on calling it a wash hand basin are just annoying as those who insist on calling a bin a waste paper basket.

On the plus side, those tend to be the same people.

1. Prst. V.Jeltz Silver badge
          Trollface

can we start on the dinner / tea debate now?

1. VinceH

I wonder if it's the same people who pronounce scones as scones instead of scones. Crazy people.

1. Boothy

I find the dinner / tea debate an oddity, and other peoples experiences may differ of course.

I've worked all around the UK, and I find it interesting that even in the North, when in the office, the meal in the middle of the day tends to get referred to as lunch. But start talking about meals outside of office hours, and it's back to dinner and tea, no such thing as lunch.