back to article Pentagon sticks to its guns: Yep, we're going with a single cloud services provider

The US Department of Defense (DoD) still intends to choose just one vendor for its multibillion-dollar cloud contract – amid complaints from Oracle's co-CEO that such a plan "makes no sense". The Pentagon made waves last month when it published a draft proposal document calling for just one cloud services provider to run the …

1. Muppetry

Seriously??

Offerors?? Who came up with that? What's wrong with suppliers, vendors, responders, partners or any of the other words that could have done the job far more effectively?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Seriously??

Yet it's the term which is used in legal circles. I'm not a lawyer myself but my understanding is it specifically refers to someone offering a contract, without the ambiguity associated with all of your suggestions, at least from a legal standpoint.

The law (in various jurisdictions) is full of this sort of stuff. It makes sense to them. To the rest of us, your comment probably says it all.

2. Steve K

The offeror is who the contractor is pre-contract (i.e. the supplier offering the contract for acceptance) - it's an established contract law term.

Once accepted then the contract is binding on the offeror.

3. Anonymous South African Coward Bronze badge

Is an Offeror something like a Dementor?

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Is an Offeror something like a Dementor?

No. Here's a definition of a Demetor. An Offeror is similar in most respects but MUCH more evil.

1. Stevie

Well, even the BBC now uses the hateful "Coup Plotters", coined by some anonymous drone working for King George the First.

It seems that if the choice is to go looking in a thesaurus or simply stick "ers" on whatever verb is appropriate, Verb Stickers beat out Look Uppers every time.

1. PNGuinn
            Headmaster

Commentarders is seriously uglier. Err ...

2. psychonaut