back to article Intel didn't tell CERTS, govs, about Meltdown and Spectre because they couldn't help fix it

Letters sent to the United States Congress by Intel and the other six companies in the Meltdown/Spectre disclosure cabal have revealed how and why they didn't inform the wider world about the dangerous chip design flaws. Republican members of the House Energy and Commerce Committee sent letters to the seven in January, to seek …

1. JimmyPage Silver badge
    Boffin

It makes you wonder ..

what else could be uncovered with a little basic kit.

It's been many years since I worked in a lab, but a few logic analysers, protocol analysers, and oscilloscopes ...

Here's an El Reg challenge: what tools would *you* equip your exploit research lab with ?

It's much more likely there are more exploits than there aren't, I'd wager.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: It makes you wonder ..

"what else could be uncovered with a little basic kit."

If these flaws could have been exposed with basic kit or simple proof of concept code then they would have been discovered decades ago since speculative execution has been used since at least the pentium pro and possibly earlier. The fact that it took so long shows how complex these faults are and how hard they are to exploit.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Roughly speaking, one can summarise Spectre by saying that to keep the pipelines full, security boundaries are ignored, and no-one cared because it was thought that pipeline contents could be not read. They found a really clever way of indirectly reading those pipelines -- h/w kit not needed.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward