back to article It's official: .corp, .home, .mail will never be top-level domains on the 'net

You will never be able to own an official .home, .mail or .corp domain name or email address on the public internet. It means if you have machines called things like storage.home or buildserver.corp on your home or private business network, you can be sure no one will be able to buy domains like storage.home or buildserver. …

1. bombastic bob Silver badge
    Devil

as an alternative to '.local'

prior to the related RFC6762 publishing, ".local" was being recommended (by Microsoft, among others) to be used for 'local LAN DNS' kinds of things. I've been using it for ~2 decades. [and I don't care much about mDNS].

Post RFC6762 it's officially reserved for mDNS. Wheee.

NOW we have others, in particular '.home' '.corp' and '.mail'.

Will there be an RFC or similar document to CODIFY and STANDARDIZE these so that we don't get a "whoops, SURPRISE!" later on???

1. Arthur the cat Silver badge

Re: as an alternative to '.local'

Post RFC6762 it's officially reserved for mDNS. Wheee.

And if you actually read that RFC:

Multicast DNS designates a portion of the DNS namespace to be free for local use, without the need to pay any annual fee, and without the need to set up delegations or otherwise configure a conventional DNS server to answer for those names.

[My emphasis.]

In other words .local is exactly what it should be and anybody can use it for their local network. Nobody's going to come round to verify you're actually running mDNS rather than having a DNS .local domain or just putting the addresses in your host file.

1. Dan 55 Silver badge

Re: as an alternative to '.local'

The problem is if you set your LAN domain to .local and you have mDNS devices on it as well, if your mDNS resolver isn't very good or configured wrong then you might not be able to resolve some addresses.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I use .internal