back to article Google Chrome vows to carpet bomb meddling Windows antivirus tools

By mid-2018 Google Chrome will no longer allow outside applications – cough, cough, antivirus packages – to run code within the browser on Windows. This is according to a post today on the Chromium blog that laid out the July release of Chrome 68 for Windows as the target for new rules that will block all third-party apps from …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

My AV runs out of process on any changes to the file system. Yeah, it's a pain getting prompted all the time but a) I'm a control freak engineer, and b) I'd rather not have the browser (it's not Chrome) crash due to buggy code. What I'm worried about is accessability software. Hopefully screenreaders and such will be extension based. But given the oft dated nature of accessability software, this probably isn't going to be pretty.

1. Anonymous Bullard

AT is fine...

"Microsoft-signed code, accessibility software, and IME software will not be affected."

2. hitmouse

Clicking the [X] in the top-right of the Chrome window will almost always generate a "Chrome closed unexpectedly" error when it is next run. So Google's ability to assess code issues is marginal at best.

1. lglethal Silver badge
      Trollface

For Google it IS an error. They expect you to NEVER close Chrome. I mean how else are they going to advertise to you?

2. riking

@hitmouse

It sounds like you're one of the victims that Chrome is trying to protect with this change - Chrome crashing when you try to close it is not normal, and it's probably because of injected code.

1. hitmouse

Re: @hitmouse

It's normal enough in that it happened on every computer I used, cutting across multiple Windows versions, from the very first time that Chrome is installed and run.

3. Mark 85
    Black Helicopters

So we have to trust Google? I'm guessing that they will, at some point, also shut down various ad blockers also since they "know what's best for us".