back to article Microsoft concedes to Mozilla: Redmond will point web API docs at Moz Dev Network

A few years ago, programmer and writer Bernard Meisler argued that coders write bad software because they're bad writers. "Most engineers can't write a single coherent sentence, never mind string together a paragraph," he wrote. So when software engineers write documentation, he reasoned, their incoherent API descriptions …

1. This post has been deleted by its author

1. Anonymous Coward
      Happy

Re: Documentation simply isn't cool.

Hang on while I make a record of that response.

2. Baldrickk

Re: Documentation simply isn't cool.

agile =/= no documentation

2. hellwig

MDN? Never heard of it.

I use the "Help" menu in Microsoft FrontPage 97. Hasn't let me down yet.

But seriously, never heard of it. Not that I'm a web developer, but when I have HTML, CSS, or JavaScript questions, Google usually serves up links from W3schools or StackExchange (depending on how restricted my question is).

So, this has been around 12 years? Might want to work on their search page ranking.

1. bombastic bob Silver badge
      Devil

Re: MDN? Never heard of it.

I recently google'd how to do some 'tricky things' with style sheets [read: I have to fix someone else's bogus b0rked-up style sheets by embedding "style=" within the tags directly to avoid excessive work] and so I've stumbled across the Mozilla dev network pages. They're not bad. Not "super scripty" and load times are pretty reasonable. Reasonably well laid out, though going from HTML section to CSS section involves naviguessing up to the top level and back down again. Still, not bad. MUCH easier on the bandwidth than MSDN ever was!!!

well, until it becomes ad-driven BLOATWARE, but still...

2. JLV