back to article Onwards to Valhalla: Java ain't dead yet and it's only getting bigger

Scale was big at the JavaOne conference this week. Spotify lauded its success scaling with Java, and Oracle execs practically squealed as they reeled off adoption statistics. Big Red believes the next ten years belong to Java. "We want the next decade to be Java first, Java always," vice president Mark Cavage said on stage. …

1. ForthIsNotDead

It occurs to me...

...that with all the issues that Java has with garbage collection and heap management (for obvious reasons, being pure/almost pure OOP platform) that using it for web applications of any sort is just a, well... crap idea.

It comes across that all these clever folks that are beavering away so gallantly at Java to improve (in particular) GC are doing so in an effort to be able to shoe-horn Java into an arena in which (IMO) it has never been particularly well suited. I actually like Java very much. I'm not an expert at it, but I can put together code that works reliably and behaves itself. I've never considered it for web stuff, though, ever, despite all the webby technologies in its orbit.

Web is just not what Java is good at.

Java lives on the desktop, and the back-office. Not on the web.

1. Tom Samplonius

Re: It occurs to me...

> Web is just not what Java is good at.

It is the only thing Java is good at.

> Java lives on the desktop, and the back-office. Not on the web.

You are the only person that believes that Java even belongs on the desktop, let alone lives. And your back-office is probably web anyways.

2. JMiles

Java on the server is well suited. The GC issues happen only in the most latency sensitive situations - think financial transactions and the like (and can be worked around - take a look at some of the high performance messaging software on java). Your average Java web app can be chugging along without anyone noticing a stop-the-world GC occurring.