back to article Cloudflare coughs up a few grand for prior-art torpedoes to sink troll

Cloudflare says its efforts to wipe out a patent troll using prior art have already yielded more than a dozen examples. The DDoS shield said that its ongoing campaign against Blackbird Technologies LLC, a law firm based in Boston, Massachusetts, has cost it a few pennies – $7,500 specifically – to cover bounties on 15 examples …

1. Brenda McViking

I applaud all efforts to wipe patent-trolls from the map.

Nonetheless as an engineer I see this as typical reactive behaviour - expensive, ineffective and doesn't solve the underlying problem, which to my mind is the fact that the US Patent Office is guilty of gross negligence and professional misconduct of the highest degree by awarding these damn things in the first place whilst clearly doing no due diligence.

How do we solve the patent problem? We can't get rid of it as it does have a useful purpose, but its current implementation is more cack-handed than a talk-talk developed banking app running in IE6 using flash player.

Damned if I can solve it. Answers on a postcard?

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Make the USPO office liable for costs associated with failed Patent litigation due to prior art or a too generic patent grant.

1. Mark 110

I am not sure that would be fair on the prior art front. It would be impossible for the USPO to have perfect knowledge of everything ever invented.

Fully agree on the overly generic stuff though.

1. Doctor Syntax Silver badge

"I am not sure that would be fair on the prior art front. It would be impossible for the USPO to have perfect knowledge of everything ever invented."