back to article Microsoft's Surface Pro 2017, unhinged: Luxury fondleslab that's good...

Microsoft waited almost two years to update its boutique computer, the Surface Pro. In the meantime the line expanded to include a detachable tablet (Surface Book), a desktop (Surface Studio) and a proper laptop (Surface, er, Laptop), while the cheaper, Atom-powered POS (Plain Old Surface) fell into the bin and wasn't rescued. …

1. Steve K

Happy Surface Pro 4 Owner here

I can sort of understand the Pen not being included here. I have a Surface Pro 4 i5/128/4GB (bought personally) and it is well-made and very portable. I also bought the Type cover keyboard (actually got it "free" due to a £100 discount offer at the time) and cannot understand why this is not bundled.

I have hardly ever used the stylus (or indeed the touch screen if I am honest) after the first week of having it - for my use-case it does not warrant the cost of buying it separately. YMMV of course as I am not a graphic designer or professional photographer. I thought that I would use it for handwriting meeting notes, but after trying it once, that has never happened....

Resume from sleep can be problematic, that is probably the only gripe.

I also avoided paying for the Surface Dock (£160?) by getting a Dell external monitor which has 5 USB ports on it which was not a million miles away from that price, and plugging everything in to that (including a USB to Gig Ethernet adapter).

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Happy Surface Pro 4 Owner here

I too am a very happy SP4 owner, and I do a lot of handwriting meeting notes with a few clicks of the pen button.

To be honest, it still surprises me how many Surfaces I see daily out in the wild.

Personally don't have a need to upgrade to the SP, though I keep trying to justify the purchase of a Surface Studio for the office!

1. AMBxx Silver badge

Re: Happy Surface Pro 4 Owner here