back to article Shooting org demands answers from Met Police over gun owner blab

Following The Register's report on the Metropolitan Police breaching its own data protection statement by handing the addresses of tens of thousands of London firearms owners to a marketing agency, the British Association for Shooting and Conservation (BASC) has written to the force demanding the decision be investigated. On …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I work in Marketing at Smartwater and I've got a copy of the gun owners list.

Here it is.....

See Met Police - It's a stupid fucking idea isn't it!

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

it's happened before, a few times

but without as much Outrage and Media coverage. Seems most every major "gun owner list" somehow manages to "accidentally" get released. Concealed carry license holders, registered "assault rifles", find a state/county/country/city that's opposed to such a thing, and you can guarantee there's been a breach.

In places where there's no law mandating reporting of such breaches, you have no idea how often or to whom the leaks occurred.

Once is an accident, twice is a coincidence, third time, well, you know the rest.

1. smudge
      Holmes

Re: it's happened before, a few times

You are obviously from the US. This is London, England we are talking about here.

We have a different approach to firearms, and to data privacy.

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"We ^used to have a different approach to firearms, and to data privacy."

3. Eddy Ito