back to article Poor software design led to second £1m Army spy drone crash

An Army Watchkeeper drone flown by the Royal Artillery crashed on landing after its crew selected the self-flying craft’s “master override” function, according to the official report into the accident. Thales Watchkeeper drone WK006 flopped into the runway at Boscombe Down airfield in November 2015 when its two-man crew, …

1. W4YBO

"The panel concluded, in its analysis, that WK006 incorrectly sensed its altitude because the two onboard laser altimeters both recorded altitudes of less than 1m above ground level thanks to reflections from the low cloud it was flying through."

Swap one for an infrared laser that'll punch through clouds. Fixed.

1. Simon Harris

Maybe they shouldn't have relied on cloud computing.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I'm no expert, but I'd guess that in order to provide correct readings over lakes, rivers and other bodies of water, laser altimeters probably intentionally use a wavelength that is going to be reflected by water. If that's the case, then given what clouds are made of, that's always going to be a problem.

1. SkippyBing

The 'interesting' thing is that the Laser Altimeters are first tested at the CP at which point there is no way, according to the manufacturer, that they could actually get a ground return. Despite this the software will accept the height reported which doesn't really help.

The technical parts of the report are quite an interesting read, you get the feeling Thales logic was cobbled together as they noticed things that didn't work...

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

The technical parts of the report are quite an interesting read, you get the feeling Thales logic was cobbled together as they noticed things that didn't work...

It's Semi-Autonomous Vehicle Not In Space Stuff (SAVNISS?). There is no doctrine on how to do that....

2. cantankerous swineherd

test driven development?

1. Anonymous Coward