back to article Amazon supremo Bezos' Blue Origin blows its top over Texas desert

The fifth flight of Blue Origin's New Shepard rocket saw a successful blast-off for the crew capsule, as the company simulated an emergency escape for future crews. That is one hell of a booster. #InFlightEscape #GradatimFerociter https://t.co/7ZRRe2HnMO — Jeff Bezos (@JeffBezos) October 5, 2016 The rocket rose up over the …

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge
    Devil

A grand applause

A grand applause. And a very well deserved one.

2. JJKing

The crew capsule of death?

If there had been any astronauts in that "escape" capsule, they would be dead. It was so out of control the rapid change in acceleration forces would have incapacitated the crew in seconds. I'm not a rocket scientist but I know from my aviation experience and training that that was not a survivable "escape".

Also, when it left the main rocket with that much thrust, what would the G forces be that were applied to them during the escape phase? It's not like it was a gentle bang seat ejection. :-)

1. Brenda McViking

Re: The crew capsule of death?

Well acceleration of a mass with a force is Newtons second law. I'm going to assume it's that simple.

70,000lbf against 8000lbs (from the article) = 8.75g acceleration

A typical flighter plane ejection is around 20g (mostly because the seat and pilot don't have much mass and you have to get out quick enough to avoid the tail of the aircraft hitting you) and bones break around 25g, it's not excessive. You might well be incapacitated for the time you're under that much g but that doesn't exactly matter.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

With the capsule bouncing around that much, the crew will need helmet restraints to avoid some serious neck/head injuries.

1. cray74

With the capsule bouncing around that much, the crew will need helmet restraints to avoid some serious neck/head injuries.