back to article Feeling a physical present: Ten summer games and gadgets

Bored of summer yet? I'm guessing that you, just like everyone else, assumed that as a lecturer, I get the summer off. No chance. Yet on the days I do escape this hellhole of forthcoming teenage subjugation, I am keeping myself busy – during unpredictable lightning storms, or sweltering and unseasonable conditions – playing with …

1. Jedit Silver badge

Exploited Cretins

Please do not recommend Exploding Kittens to anyone, ever, not even ironically. Not even if you hate them. It is terrible in every way.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Exploited Cretins

The only terrible thing about it for us is that ours eyes didn't light up.

2. Duffy Moon

Why?

1. Spleen

"Terrible" is a bit strong, it's just Old Maid with some nice artwork. Buy a pack of cards instead, it costs a quid and you can play grown up games with it as well.

2. Ol'Peculier

Ferrets

After watching that video, I really do wish I could keep pets in my flat.

1. K

Re: Ferrets

Ferrets are great fun and live well indoors... but do be aware, they smell and they play rough - they're nicknamed carpet-sharks, and you will get bitten by sharp teeth frequently (not out of malice or anger, its just how they play).

1. Gavin Chester

Re: Ferrets

To be fair they are no worse than other pets, they soon learn that human skin isn't as tough as ferret skin, so it's more a kin to play fighting, ours generally don't play bite hard enough to break our skin, but could do harm if really scared.

Do they smell, sort of, leave any animal in its mess for a while and it gets bad, ours are cleaned out twice a day and its fine on all but the hottest days, but like any animal (cat/dog) you will generally notice the smell if you go into a house with animals if its not your own pet.

1. Ol'Peculier
  3. Kubla Cant

How much?