back to article Gamers Steaming over dumb Valve password vuln

Over the weekend, game publisher Valve patched a vulnerability that let user accounts have their passwords reset without proper validation. UK gamer Elm Hoe demonstrated the simple attack in the YouTube video below. Youtube Video In case you don't have time to watch it, the coding error was simplicity in itself. After the …

1. msknight

Can't get on.

The Steampowered web site is returning... "An error occurred while processing your request."

Hmmm..... I guess it's getting hammered by everyone trying to check their logons.

I did actually get a steam password reset e-mail to one of my steam accounts, but it went on fine, so I guess I was lucky. I'm also not a high profile gamer, but if I can't get on to the web site, I can't check my creds.

1. Kraggy

Re: Can't get on.

It seems a widespread domain outage, the forums are down as well as the Store, so it maybe more than just their account system under strain.

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge

Having no issues with the Steam client

Probably means that the web Store is not on the same framework.

2. Khaptain Silver badge

"As he points out, now Valve is aware of the issue, anyone trying the hijack would be risking a permanent ban."

The hackers must be quaking in their boots... ( and not Quake 4, quaking)

3. Paul Shirley

Steam Guard is a PIA

Ummmm, almost justifies the pain of Steam Guard and it's complete inability to remember I've logged in from the same machine+browser as little as a few hours earlier.

Almost. I seriously doubt it would even slow down an attacker.

1. poopypants

Re: Steam Guard is a PIA

That's odd. I've been using Steam Guard for over a year and it very rarely asks me to type in an authentication number. In fact I can't recall the last time it did. Same with Google. Still, I'm sure the gamble of not having two factor authentication gives you a little thrill of excitement, so there is that.

1. Anonymous Coward