back to article WHOMP! There it is: IBM demos 154TB tape

IBM and Fujifilm have demoed a 154TB LTO-size tape cartridge which could come to market in 10 years' time. While it falls short of the Sony 185TB development, it should, with IBM's tape partnerships, see Sony exit the field. The Sony development involved a 148Gbit/in2 tape density and its own tape design to achieve a 185TB …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

This piece of kit was specifically designed to store the last month's hate mail sent to Manchester United.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Tape is dead!!!

Not really I just wanted to be the first to trot out that old cliche that I've been hearing for about 15 years now :)

1. Matt Collins

Re: Tape is dead!!!

I'd like to add the other old chestnut - never underestimate the bandwidth of a lorry full of tapes!

1. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge

...but it has to hurtle down the highway otherwise it is just archival storage.

1. Brian Miller

Is it OK if the tape takes the tube instead?

3. Steven Jones

LTO22?

"Vulture View: With its LTO connections, such an IBM technology could well banish Sony’s impressive 185TB effort to the tape wilderness. Reckoning on LTO generations doubling capacity we could see a hypothetical LTO-22 pass the 154TB mark."

I think Vulture Centre needs a little bit of work on his mathematics. If capacity doubles every generation, it will take 6 generations to go from LTO 6's native 2.5TB to 160TB, which would make it LTO12 (or LTO-11 if it's compressed capacity at 2:1).