back to article I need to multitask, but Windows 8's Metro won't let me

What is multitasking? Different people seem to mean different things when they use the word multitasking. The definition chosen has implications for accepting or rejecting the prevailing design choices of modern user interfaces. I have been a vocal critic of Windows 8's Metro interface. My chief complaint is that it does not …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Bob Vistakin
    Linux

You're making too much of this

Microsoft knows better than you what you want, so get with it or get to another platform.

Oh, wait...

1. Anonymous Coward
      Boffin

Re: You're making too much of this

Indeed...

50% for firefox, to browse the forums for answers

30% to create/ edit config files in gedit

20% for the good ol' terminal

I've been using Ubuntu for the last 5 yrs at home... (But Linux Mint 13 with Cinnamon beckons now)

1. GitMeMyShootinIrons

Or for a Microsoft bias version -

50% for Internet Explorer to 'Bing' for answers

30% to create/ edit config files in Notepad

20% for PowerShell

The principle is the same. Metro might be nice for Grandma browsing the Daily Mail website, but for proper work, I'll look elsewhere, be it Linux or windows XP or 7.

2. Goat Jam
        Devil

"But Linux Mint 13 with Cinnamon beckons now"

Do it, you know you want to.

2. ItsNotMe
      WTF?

"Microsoft knows better than you what you want,..." Taking a page from Steve Jobs' handbook are they?

3. Trevor_Pott Gold badge

Cinnamon. It's tasty.

4. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Metro yes. But windows 8 is in the background so ditch metro unless you are going ARM.

Besides, blame apple for metro and the likes. I'm sick of seeing iPads. I now associate ipads and iPhones with chavs, like McLaren prams and burberry hats.

Win 8 is so overdue! die apple, die apple!

1. Henry Wertz 1 Gold badge

"Metro yes. But windows 8 is in the background so ditch metro unless you are going ARM."