back to article Verizon unveils offspring surveillance service

Verizon Wireless had added a new service that puts a 21st century spin on Orwell's Big Brother, ushering in a brave new world of surveillance monitored by Big Mother and Big Father. The service, entitled Family Locator and available to subscribers on Verizon's Family SharePlan for an extra $9.99 per month, enables helicopter …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Dubious Legality

Im not a lawyer, but I'm not entirely sure this is legal because of the Federal Wiretap Act.

Generally there would have to be a Warrant issued to intercept communications between the handset and tower, which is likely how this system works, or there would have to a notorized consent form signed by whoever was subject to monitoring. Woe to the overzealous cop or Federal agent that decided to use this as an evidence collection mechanism though because its very likely inadmissable.

I get the feeling Verizon's legal people didnt have much input on this one.

1. Charles 9

Re: Dubious Legality

This isn't intended for law enforcement but rather to keep teenage sons and daughters (as well as perhaps untrusted spouses) honest. It even has potential safeguards against the phone switcheroo since it makes it easy for the parent/spouse to physically travel to the phone's location. Leave the phone in the library? You better hope the parent doesn't pick that moment to track it down and find it left there, as you'll have some explaining to do later.

2. Aaron Em

Well, you're not a lawyer