back to article Sysadmin sank IBM mainframe by going one VM too deep

Welcome to another glimpse inside the dark-curtained (in)box that is "Who, me?" – El Reg's confessional column in which readers seek penance for sins of the past. This week, meet "George", who many years ago was one of two sysadmins in the office products division of a three-letter computer company. And was bored. Bored, bored …

Page:

1. John 110
          Boffin

As A scientist...

As a scientist I resent that... wait no, as you were. I'll start again.

As a scientist I resemble that remark!

1. Stevie

Re: As A scientist...

A scientist eh? I have a question for you: WHERE'S MY FLYING CAR YOU USELESS LUMP?

1. jake Silver badge

Re: As A scientist...

Expecting a scientist to deliver your flying car? Well, there's your problem. The professional you are actually looking for is called an Engineer.

1. AndyMulhearn

Scientists...

Scientists, not as good at following instructions as you think

Your mistake was not prefixing the instructions with an Abstract, adding a few references to random publications and putting in on arxiv.org for peer review. It may not have made any difference in the long run but they may have actually read it...

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"Scientists, not as good at following instructions as you think"

Oh indeed ! I could name you dozens of examples where I've been on the other end of the phone to Senior Professors who couldn't find their way out of a paper bag when it comes to subjects outside their area of expertise (such as making the great scientific discovery that YES, the map and address of the event has already been published on the website on the event page ...... no, instead they ring me or my colleagues instead quite literally asking "Where is the event taking place?" ).

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge

Oh indeed ! I could name you dozens of examples where I've been on the other end of the phone to Senior Professors