back to article McAfee false-positive glitch fells PCs worldwide

IT admins across the globe are letting out a collective groan after servers and PCs running McAfee VirusScan were brought down when the anti-virus program attacked their core system files. In some cases, this caused the machines to display the dreaded blue screen of death. Details are still coming in, but forums here and here …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Reality Dysfunction
    FAIL

Mcafee have finally aknowledged this

Mcafee have finally aknowledged this... after 3 days

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB66225

I am a sysadmin using the product and no I did not have meltdown as I manage to keep things up to date (well as up to date as I can given how old some of our hardware is)

Mcafee may be a bit of a hog on CPU around update time (ameliorated with later patchesand versions) but compared to sophos/symantec the admin interface is a milion times better and although Kaspersky have an OK one their support offering is a little too Russian for most people.

Still Mcafee ruined my friday and weekend as I ran round explaining why I was rolling back DATS on 10000 machines when there wasnt even an offical notification of a problem etc etc and then impinged on my beer time as I had to keep checking stuff all weekend for free.

Bad communication ruins an average AV with a good managment tool.

PS free avast and comodo at home of course.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

@Fuzz

The Engine IS updated along with the DATs. I administer McAfee via ePO so have some idea of how it works. The only way a person can be running engine 5100 with dat 5664 is if: