back to article Facebook scandal: EU politicians should aim for straight answers, not star witnesses

Politicians on this side of the Pond need to stop obsessing about getting Mark Zuckerberg in front of them, and start preparing to grill his subordinates. In the aftermath of the revelations about Facebook data being sold to political consultancy Cambridge Analytica, lawmakers have been queuing up to demand the CEO sits in …

1. ArrZarr Silver badge
    Holmes

Get the engineers in

The people who know how the nuts and bolts work will be pathologically incapable of giving half answers or stalling for time. They'd much prefer to inform the politicians exactly how everything will fit together in more detail than the politicians will want and will feel distinctly awkward if they try to sidestep a question.

1. Irongut

Re: Get the engineers in

Just because you think all engineers are some kind of socially awkward autism sufferer does not make it so. I'm a software engineer and I can lie, bluff and tell half truths with the best of them.

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge

Just because you think all engineers are some kind of socially awkward

When the engineer lies about not knowing something it is quite easy to get him for contempt of court. Hence, they usually do not.

When a middle manager lies about not knowing something, it is possible to nail them, but quite difficult. So they tend to measure the amount of "I do not know" which they deliver and try to use this only as final get out of jail trump card.

When a C-suite member lies brazenly and openly about not knowing what is going on they usually get off the hook. There were plenty of examples of that recently, I will not quote the exact ones.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

When a CEO-level person doesn't have a clue what's going on, why are they being paid a fortune (in real money, shares, or both)?