back to article Office junior had one job: Tearing perforated bits off tractor-feed dot matrix printer paper

Why look at that! Friday is upon us, which means it’s time to read this week’s edition of On-Call, our weekly column featuring Register readers’ recollections of tech support jobs gone wrong. This week meet “Pablo” who told us that “In the '90s I worked as a field service engineer for one of the leading companies supplying IT …

Page:

1. Olivier2553

They fixed it!

It tends to show they knew how to remove the ribbon cartridge and install it anew.

And despite that they did not consider installing a new ribbon but they resolved to fix the old one?

Pablo was too nice, he should have taken the printer for repair, one month delay, and charge full price because that's obviously abuse of the equipment.

1. JimC

Re: They fixed it!

You don't understand customers. They did the lash up to get them working while someone ordered the new ribbon, then promptly forgot about it.

2. Jamie Jones Silver badge

Re: They fixed it!

Yeah.. And they said it was urgent and the office junior was about to go home.

If it was that urgent, the poor little rich boys could have hung around a bit longer and done the mundane paper folding themselves!

2. jake Silver badge

"Has a foreign body caused you grief?"

Well, there was that Greek girl I dated at Uni ...

1. Sam Therapy

Re: "Has a foreign body caused you grief?"

"I met her at St Martin's College

She said she had a thirst for knowledge..."

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

An all too common story.

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Korev Silver badge
          Pint

"Oh you're so funny."

I said "Yeah?

Well I can't see anyone else smiling in here.

cos there's no rum ad coca-cola icon -->

2. Celeste Reinard