back to article Less than half of paying ransomware targets get their files back

Paying off a ransomware demand is a great way to end up losing both your money and your files. This according a study from security company CyberEdge, which found that for those hit by a ransomware infection the best bet is probably to just restore from a backup. The survey, based on a poll of information security …

1. elDog

I have bought backup packages for at least 10 of my relatives systems

Anyone want to guess if they actually have backed up their files?

Good guess.

I've been a sysadmin long enough and realize the time/effort and to just get a compromised system back in working order.

However, the people I've helped are not thankful for me not being able to restore a system to "this morning". You can't pay me enough to take those calls.

2. mdubash

That headline: Fewer... (please?)

1. Doctor Syntax Silver badge

"That headline: Fewer... (please?)"

Is quarter of a pint fewer than half a pint or less than half a pint?

2. Anonymous Coward
      Coat

That headline: Fewer... (please?)

I don't think so. "Fewer" implies an integer (i.e. you can do a one to one comparison between two sets and if one has a smaller number of the elements than the other, it has "fewer".

A half is not an integer and cannot be integrally divided, so the word to use is "less".

I am with Dr. Syntax here, even though in this case it's surely Dr. Number Theory.

Mine is the one with the copy of North Whiehead and Russell in the pocket.

1. Terry 6 Silver badge

Re: That headline: Fewer... (please?)

"Fewer" is usually for countable nouns. There fewer women in IT than Health.

"Less" is for non-count nouns. There is less water in the Sahara than in Manchester.

1. 's water music
          Coat

every time you correct my grammar I love you a little fewer...

2. Francis Boyle Silver badge

"Less" is for non-count nouns.