back to article A Hughes failure: Flat Earther rocketeer can't get it up yet again

An American bloke, who reckons Earth is flat as a frisbee, is on a quest to send himself into space to verify his theory. And on Sunday, he failed to even launch a rocket to a few hundred feet. Limousine driver, self-taught rocket maker, and headline generator "Mad" Mike Hughes hoped to blast off his homemade rocket from …

Page:

1. The Man Who Fell To Earth Silver badge
    FAIL

1,800 feet

If he's dumb enough to think that 1,800 feet is enough altitude to tell him anything, he should just ride the elevator up the Burj Khalifa building. That's roughly 2,700 feet.

1. TheVogon

Re: 1,800 feet

"Hughes estimated he will need to raise about $2m to bankroll his adventure"

You can get a round the world plane ticket for less than £1000. Won't that do?

1. TheVogon

Anyway, how do they explain satellites in orbit, how GPS works, how compasses work, that we can measure our rotation relative to the moon, sun and planets, observe them with telescopes, the phases of the moon, and the above point how otherwise could you sail or fly round the planet?!

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge

Anyway, how do they explain satellites in orbit, how GPS works, how compasses work, that we can measure our rotation relative to the moon, sun and planets, observe them with telescopes, the phases of the moon, and the above point how otherwise could you sail or fly round the planet?!

None of them produces "youtuber ad revenue". Move along.

2. Rich 11

Epicycles.

3. Marco van de Voort

You are trying to reason with people that have left reason behind. Not a logical thing to do :-)

4. Prst. V.Jeltz Silver badge

"how do they explain satellites in orbit, how GPS works, how compasses work..."

I dont believe there is anyone on the planet who thinks the world is flat. I've looked for their websites before now. Plenty of people might say they are a Flat Earther , but they are just attention seeking.