back to article Openreach fibre plan for 10m premises coming 'before Christmas'

Openreach chair Mike McTighe says the carrier has concluded its consultation on how to deliver fibre-to-the-premises connections across Britain by the year 2025 and will deliver its plan to do so “before Christmas”. “We will be publishing Openreach's response to that consultation before Christmas, and in that we will put out a …

Page:

1. Khaptain Silver badge

Isn't Wifi/5G a viable and cheaper option

With the increase in Wifi/5G speed wouldn't it be a better option to concentrate on Wireless solutions rather than digging up roads and pulling expensive cables/fibres..

I am sure that even a 100Mb wireless solution would be preferable to a 20Mb existing broadband connexion.

I have very little knowledge of the constraints behind Wifi/5G but it appears as though a physical cable/fibre would result in a higher TCO although I could be completely wrong on all points..

( By Wireless I mean any solution that doesn't involve cables/wires/fibres)

1. Tom 7

Re: Isn't Wifi/5G a viable and cheaper option

You may find this hard to believe but those who dont have fibre generally dont have 3g let alone 5g. I'm on 2Mb and cannot recieve 2G here.

Its due to the laws of physics - they wont open their wallet until the government had opened theirs first.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

100 houses sharing a 100M 5G connection means they get an average of 1M each. Probably more in practice; but if half of them decide to stream iPlayer or NetFlix at the same time, it isn't going to work well.

High-frequency microcells may have a role to play - but as Mr BT acknowledges, by the time you've got the fibre to all the lampposts down the street, you may as well have connected the homes as well.

3. AndrueC Silver badge
      Meh