back to article Big question: Who gets the blame if a cyborg drops a kid on its head?

Who is responsible if a robot controlled by a human brain drops, say, a baby? It's a bizarre question, but one worth asking, according to scientists who raise a host of ethical and social questions around brain-machine interfaces (BMI) in the policy forum in Science. Research in this area begun in the 1970s when the US …

1. Gordon Pryra

Hmmm, from past experience its either

1) N00b!

2) Opps im a newbie :)

3) It wasn't me, it was my brother on my account

4) I was afk

5) LAAAAAG!!

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Get your own acronym. This one's already taken

Everyone knows BMI = Body Mass Index

Why not come up with a better unique one?

Having said that, I just tried and failed miserably!

1. jake Silver badge

Re: Get your own acronym. This one's already taken

I've always heard it referred to as "Brain-Computer Interface" or BCI, since at least the late 1970s at Stanford.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Stop

STOP

Stop is ambiguous. Stop dropping the baby, or stop gripping the baby?

Good luck training you machine learning for subtly nuanced baby juggling.

1. Gordon Pryra

Re: STOP

Actually

given enough babies, I am sure that your machine will eventually learn....

1. Nolveys

Re: STOP

For the success condition to apply does the baby have to be in one piece?

4. jake Silver badge

Why would anybody be daft enough to endanger the child?

I think one correct answer would be mu.

5. Natalie Gritpants

If you put a helpless human in a machine

You are responsible for what happens. That includes prams, pushchairs, baths, car seats, roller-coasters, hot-tubs, robot nannies, rocket sleds etc. Generally, the simpler a machine is the lower the chance of something bad happening so robot nannies are out for me

1. Gordon 10
      Stop

Re: If you put a helpless human in a machine