back to article Wanna write a Cloudflare app? No? Would $100m change your mind?

Internet traffic wrangler Cloudflare is opening up its massive global network to third-party developers. The network capacity and services provider says that its Cloudflare Apps Platform will let developers write code for web apps that Cloudflare customers can then purchase and embed on their sites. Globally, Cloudflare said …

1. ElReg!comments!Pierre
    IT Angle

I'm sure CloudFlare serves a purpose. Somehow.

I mean, I do know that El Reg is a CloudFlare (CF) client for example. I know that because I've been prevented from accessing my beloved Reg writers' ramblings more than a couple of times, with little more than a so-called "ray-ID" to sooth my pains. I'm pretty new at this IT thing (not), but I can't help wondering whether that cloud-based approach to "protection" really is worth it. I mean, do you guys really save that much money by using CF over in-house IT? Genuine question.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: I'm sure CloudFlare serves a purpose. Somehow.

In this age where people can rent a 1 Tbps botnet for a bottle of vodka, the unfortunate answer is yes.

2. Nate Amsden

even at it's most basic level cloudflare is a CDN. And the goal of the CDN is to cache assets close to the client for faster performance. The security add on stuff I'm sure is nice for the clients that need it, my experience says most do not, but if it's cheap and/or easy to setup then there may be little harm in just doing it.