back to article Virtualization twisted devs, cloud and SaaS made them monsters

At the VMware user group conference in Melbourne a couple of weeks back, NetApp's Josh Atwell wondered what it will take to repair relations between developers and ops teams. His history of the two tribes has them in a long, distrustful truce until virtualization took off, at which point developers revelled in pool of …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Devil

"at which point developers revelled in pool of virtualized resources that were so much more available and flexible than had previously been the case."

Thats one opinion, another was developers just got lazy and lost the skill of optimisation. Building a 200KB applications with 100MB of dependencies. I was a developer at the time, and I was seeing a generation of developers who couldn't even write a simple SQL statement, let a lone optimise one - they resorted to bulky frameworks like Doctrine and Hibernate (They've got their uses, but not here) and then blamed the framework when it ran slowly or needed 2GB ram to do a simple query!

suffice to say I turned to the darkside of BoFH-hood.. It pays better, its less stress and I'm get lots of cash to spend of "toys" of my choosing!

2. K

"The internet of things (IoT) might also offer ops teams another way to win back respect from developers and line of business folks."

I don't need their respect, all I need is their compliance!

3. Federal

SaaS Savings are partly from reduced features

The software development process generally follows the "the last 10% of the work takes 50% of the development time" rule. That's where the unique requirements involving customizations and complex data integrations take place. They're hard for developers but greatly simplify work processes for end users.

After the switch to SaaS end users are told "our workflow optimization (to get the overall function to fit into the cloud app) don't allow for that feature in this release."