back to article Hello? Police? My darknet drug market was just hacked by criminals

A popular dark net marketplace hawking drugs and stolen credit cards has opened a security bug bounty offering to pay hackers for reporting vulnerabilities. The "Hansa" marketplace announced the bounty last week inviting security researchers to disclose vulnerabilities worth up to 10 bitcoins (US$10,170) for bugs that could …

1. frank ly

Maybe it's the police who are doing the hacking

If I was a police officer, I'd be very tempted. I've no idea what the legal situation is for that.

1. Pascal Monett Silver badge

I think the legal situation is very much a no for that kind of thing, not to mention that I do not believe that the police have the necessary chops to do it in the first place. The brightest minds do not look at a police salary and think "yes ! this is my ideal career path".

Unfortunately, some very bright minds do look at the dark side, see the money involved and think "yup, I'm going there".

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Maybe not the police, but I'm sure other departments may accidentally leak the details to them.

2. Trigonoceps occipitalis

"The brightest minds do not look at a police salary and think "yes ! this is my ideal career path"."

Not everyone is just a venal free-booter. You do disservice to anyone who just wants to help society in general and policemen in particular - some of them clearly brighter than you are.

2. Goldmember

Re: Maybe it's the police who are doing the hacking

I wouldn't expect police involvment in that. But FBI/ GCQH; absolutely. They have a lot of legal protection. To the point of having laws changed/ created when they do step outside of existing bounds.

2. Shane McCarrick