back to article BT will HATE us for this one weird 5G trick

I cycle in London. It halves my journey time to the office and being nicer than sweating on the tube lets me substitute muscles for my Oyster. It also gives me a chance to think. One of the things I think about is how much I hate buses . They don’t mix with bikes. Having something which weighs twelve tonnes share road space …

Page:

1. Charlie Clark Silver badge

I'm a cyclist myself but find these suggestions less than helpful. Want to make travel safer for all? Then you need to separate and prioritise the different flows as the Dutch have been doing for years and more recently the Danes in Copenhagen. Bad news: it usually means more street furniture to keep the flows apart.

As for lights: my understanding is that Sodium lights are very efficient because they're single spectrum, which is why they're still being adopted for road lighting even though LEDs are much cheaper than they were. I'm not an expert in this field but I seem to recall an article on El Reg about them being rolled out in Canada as low power and low maintenance.

1. Velv
      Boffin

Edinburgh's been rolling out LED streetlights for nearly two years.

They're still trying to resolve problems in the different beam pattern and they had initial problems with the brightness level, but overall they appear to be good.

1. Nifty Silver badge

So at a future date they'll be able to swap those LEDs for LiFi LEDs?

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Worcestershire has been rolling them out. You often get complaints about the brightness from houses near the lampost, but usually a quick back plate fixes that issue.

So much better at night now. And I have no issues with many of them being turned off between say 1am and 5am.

1. druck Silver badge
          FAIL

LED street light fail