back to article Linus Torvalds admits 'buggy crap' made it into Linux 4.8

Linus Torvalds gave the world Linux 4.8 earlier this week, but now appears to wish he didn't after spotting some code he says can “kill the kernel.” When Torvalds announced Linux 4.8 on Sunday he said the final version added “a few stragging fixes since rc8.” But by Tuesday he was back on the Linux Kernel Mailing list …

Page:

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge

There is lots of BUG_ON() all over the place

All lock debugging, etc - is peppered by BUG_ON()s

Granted, a BUG_ON() may be better than deadlocking in that case, but still... it is a reality - if you turn on any of the debug directives in the kernel you immediately wade into a morass of BUG_ON()s

1. phuzz Silver badge

Re: There is lots of BUG_ON() all over the place

I'm not a kernel developer, what exactly is this BUG_ON thingumy anyway?

1. /dev/null

In other Unices, it's called a kernel panic (or a conditional kernel panic to be precise in this case).

1. ma1010

So it's sort of a Linux BSOD? Fortunately, I've never seen it on my Linux box. I have seen a fair number of Windows BSODs, though.

People sometimes complain about Linus, but if Windows developers had anything like that much passion for producing a good product, Windows X would actually be the upgrade from Win 7 MS claims it is instead of a festering pile of dingo's kidneys.

1. patrickstar

You are comparing Windows the-entire-platform to Linux the-kernel. Like thinking Linus is in charge of Ubuntu, or whatever.

The original person in charge of the Windows kernel, Dave Cutler, is just as much of an anal asshole as Linus. And certainly more OCD when it comes to coding standards.

If you fuck up, Linus flames you on LKML. Cutler beats you up (or used to in his younger days, atleast). Or if you're lucky, just punches the wall.

1. Elf