back to article Obituary: Victor Scheinman, inventor of the 'Stanford Arm' factory robot

Victor Scheinman, whose 1960s work in robotics created the “robot factory” we see today, has died in California aged 73. News of Scheinman's death was first reported by the New York Times. Scheinman's university invention, known as the “Stanford arm”, achieved something never before achieved in the world of robotics: a self- …

1. gaz 7

"cause you only needed the arm right?"

Seriously RIP. Another one who changed the world

1. Simon Harris

+1 on that sentiment.

It was on a Puma that I first learned how to program a robot arm.

1. ChrisC Silver badge

Likewise, 'twas on the university PUMA560 as a postgrad student that I started learning all about the joys of path planning, co-ordinated motion (IIRC - whatever it was called that defined whether or not the endpoint moved in a straight line between points A and B, or whether it moved along whatever path was defined by the joints moving the least amount in order to get there) etc. Not quite as glamorous as the big hulking orange beast of a Kuka sat next to it in the lab, but nice and easy to work with, and with rather less ability to tear up the lab if it all went a bit pearshaped...