back to article NBN raid fallout continues, with Conroy formalising privilege claim

The Australian Labor Party's (ALP's) senator Stephen Conroy has formalised his claim of parliamentary privilege over documents seized in last week's Australian Federal Police raid of his office and the homes of two of his staffers. Conroy has sent a letter to the Australian Federal Police (AFP), a procedural step required to …

1. Youngone Silver badge

Shakey Ground

Although I'm not a lawyer I do play one on the Internet.

I wonder where the orders for this raid came from. Police are usually loathe to go near politicians, particularly when said politician could quite rightly argue that they're doing their job.

Double particularly when there's an election very soon.

This whole thing smells very fishy.

2. Ted's Toy

I thought that being in receipt of stolen property was a criminal offense.,or does being a member of a political organization or a member of parliament or senate give one an exemption from the law?

1. julian.smith

I thought being a tool was .... being just like you

What is Malcolm trying to hide?

The Streisand Effect is strong on this one .....

Looks like Tony the Deranged lies and Malcolm the Incompetent's performance on behalf of their sleazy paymaster will be revealed to an electorate ready for someone to build the "real" NBN

1. Ted's Toy

I thought:

My posting is not siding with one political party or other I take no stance on either side of the fence side just a question of morality and legality of the action. Please remember countries work in spite of governments and the legal systems are supposed to act with impunity in Oz not as in some other countries.

2. Mark Exclamation

I thought being a tool was .... being just like Stephen Conroy

What is Stephen trying to hide?

The Streisand Effect is strong on this one .....