back to article Fake IT admin tricked Cox rep into handing over customer database – cableco fined $600k

US broadband watchdog the FCC has fined Cox Communications $595,000 (£391,000, AU$832,000) after a Lizard Squad hacker swiped its customer records. The FCC announced the punishment on Thursday, ending an investigation into the 2014 security breach. The fine is the first such penalty the FCC has dished out against a US cable …

1. David 132 Silver badge
    FAIL

Silly cox.

1. VinceH

Bunch of coxwombles.

2. Dadmin
    Thumb Up

This Security Hole is now CLOSED!

Thanks to the brave staff member who printed out a sign for the call-center that reads; "if eviljordie calls, just hang up"

Problem solved! Let's go to lunch!

1. Ole Juul

Re: This Security Hole is now CLOSED!

Have an upvote - that's just too funny! :)

3. Danny 2

Last night's nightmare

I dreamed I was a sys admin about to be fired for a mistake beyond my ken that I hadn't anticipated. I was about to be blamed for something that wasn't my fault, and I felt terrified. Then I woke up relieved for moment or two realising it was just a bad dream, induced from reading too many articles here

And then as I woke up I remembered I'd actually been blacklisted for the past fourteen years for no good reason, and yet I'd survived fairly happily since then. Intelligent people always survive anything we used to fear. It's not as bad as we imagine, at worst it's unfair punishment and we are used to that.

My needy, fearful nightmares as a sys admin and higher back then were and are far more scary than the actuality. What is odd is I have faced the worst punishment you fear most, and far, far worse, but when I have anxiety nightmares I still worry subconsciously about daily backups, teenage hackers and commuting traffic jams. Those are life-long soul-killers

Worry less. The best thing they can do you is sack you. You will survive, and might even prosper - but the fear is a constant.

4. Mark 85
    Facepalm