Cheap phone buying advice needed

This topic was created by Uncle Slacky .

1. Uncle Slacky Silver badge
    Linux

Cheap phone buying advice needed

I'm new to the whole smartphone thing (I prefer dumbphones) but as my daughter is looking for a cheap phone for general tinkering (she's doing a software engineering degree), I thought I'd ask here.

Given the recent outbreak of bugs, I guess something that's supported by CyanogenMod or Replicant would be best. Secondhand is acceptable, but presumably the battery would need to be easily replaceable in such a case. Is it better to get something new from e.g. Alibaba or secondhand from e.g. Cash Converters or similar? Any idea what sort of prices I should be looking for?

1. Antonymous Coward
      Childcatcher

Re: Cheap phone buying advice needed

Some idea of your daughter's idea of "cheap" would be helpful. Along with any specific requirements like radio speed and band coverage.

I'd always favour (new) old stock over s/h old stock for this sort of stuff and probably be looking at things like these:

US$160 Galaxy S3 GT-I9300 http://www.ebay.com/itm/261974415727

US$210 Note 2 GT-N7100 http://www.ebay.com/itm/252032497383

US$310 Note 3 GT-N9005 http://www.ebay.com/itm/331609748395

1. Uncle Slacky Silver badge

Around €200 is the maximum (we're in France). Ideally we need to buy something from a France-based website so that we can take advantage of our insurance's new-for-old replacement policy if need be.

She's looking for something smallish (4 to 4.5 inch screen) so the Moto G is looking quite good at the moment (€179 via her existing carrier) or possibly a Leagoo Lead 3 or 4 from phonedroid.fr for circa €110 - anyone know anything about the brand? http://www.phonedroid.fr/260-leagoo-lead-3.html

1. TeeCee Gold badge

The Moto G suffers from poor storage (bugger all internally and no expansion).