back to article Silk Road coder turned dealer turned informant gets five years

A programmer turned drug dealer turned government informant has been sentenced to five years in prison after being caught up in the Silk Road shutdown. Steven Sadler, 40, was arrested at his home in Bellevue, Washington on July 31, 2013 by members of the Department of Homeland Security. Police found over a kilogram of cocaine …

1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

"We will not allow internet connectivity to be blatantly misused to harm public safety."

Heck no, that's what the "War on Drugs" is for.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Don't get high

on your own supply.

1. chivo243 Silver badge
      Thumb Up

Re: Don't get high

Great reference! Haven't watched Scarface in many years, maybe it's time to look it up again.

3. Little Mouse
    Unhappy

5 years?

He got off lightly.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: 5 years?

I'm no expert on American (or any other type of) law, but the Yanks do seem to like plea bargains and offer very large reductions in sentences as a reward to the offender.

I'm not sure if I think it is a good thing or not, it's complex, but on balance I think it's bad.

If law enforcers are competent there should be no need for a large reduction in time served in exchange for information.

Pleading guilty at an early stage and assisting the authorities is recognised in the UK as a good way to get some time off your sentence which seems sensible, saves time and money and offers a small reward to the offender.

The US plea bargain system seems a bit over the top to me, I think too much leniency is given for ratting out the, er, other rats.

1. LucreLout

Pleading guilty at an early stage and assisting the authorities is recognised in the UK as a good way to get some time off your sentence

Pleading guilty early doesn't mean what people think it means.