back to article Want to see the back of fossil fuels? Calm down, hippies. CAPITALISM has an answer

It's a distinctly lonely intellectual position to have — agreeing with the IPCC that climate change is a problem, one we're causing, and something that we might want to do something about but thinking that we've probably already done what we needed to do. The extent of the Arctic ice cap during the last ice age I'm no expert …

Page:

1. Lionel Baden
    Unhappy

A big If

I Would love to see this as possible and happening.

I see alot of these technologies come and go, to be never heard from again.

1. JeffyPoooh

(Way past) Time for an ordered priority list

Rather than aim at "fossil fuels", why not aim at the subset that is coal?

Using nuclear power or natural gas or hydro (instead of coal) to make electricity is rather well developed, but nuclear-powered airliners seem to be a more distant prospect. So why don't we humans implement a multiphase approach where we practice with dirty old CO2-inefficient coal a bit first, and then leaving the more difficult-to-replace liquid fuels until a bit later?

Here's the implementation plan:

1) Stop issuing permits for coal mines (easy, zero direct cost)

2) Slowly ramp up the import duties on coal imports (a money maker)

3) Slowly and carefully buy up local coal mines (a few hundred billion $)

4) Slowly and very carefully shut them down over 15 years, gently transitioning the staff

The goal is to raise the cost of coal so that coal fired power plants will be converted to natural gas (half the CO2 per unit energy), or replaced with nuclear or hydro or whatever. Within about 15 years, coal would be relegated to a niche product. Not banned, just move it way down the list.

Obviously this is not without costs, but the cost-benefit is off-the-scale efficient and effective.