back to article Visual Studio Online goes titsup as Microsoft wrestles with database

Microsoft's Visual Studio Online services for software developers are in the midst of a total outage that has lasted for more than four hours. The Redmond giant has blamed a database snafu. The services, which were launched in November 2013 to coincide with general availability of Visual Studio 2013, are hosted on Redmond's …

1. Bob Vistakin
    Linux

Tut tut tut

Tuttity fucking tut.

2. Mephistro

Another day...

... another cloud SNAFU.

1. Steven Raith

Re: Another day...

"Another MS cloud SNAFU" more like.

I'm no cloud proponent, but core Azure based systems seem to shit themselves, comprehensively, on a monthly basis.

In short, if you really, really, want something cloudy, don't touch MS with a fucking barge pole, period.

Steven R

1. Steven Raith

Re: Another day...

Fucking triple post.

I must be proxying via Azure or something.

2. This post has been deleted by its author

3. This post has been deleted by its author

3. Khaptain Silver badge

Cloud

Just the damned word makes me cringe now.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Sourcecode lost?

That's the word on the street.

5. Tom Chiverton 1

According to that status page, auto-scaling has bee broken for two weeks now as well.

6. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Opportunity

I heard of a startup near Seattle that is selling something called a microcomputer which will be small enough that you can have an actual computer in your own office

7. The_Idiot

And as the march to subscription (online) services goes on...

... I watch it march away into the distance, as I continue to stand as far away from the bloody things as I reasonably can.

I understand the value of such services to the service provider. I quite fail to understand their value to the consumer, at least, to this Idiot consumer.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward