A puzzle, a question

This topic was created by BlueGreen .

1. BlueGreen

A puzzle, a question

As I often say, times are hard and they will only get harder. So I've offered various of my mates free help with getting skills. I tell them, "anything I know I'll teach you if you want it. It won't be easy but you can do it and what you learn will make you much more employable. In time, even decent money". I'm a pretty good teacher and I'm very patient. On the few occasions the conversation has turned to work/IT in the pub - almost never my doing, yakking shop is so crap - it's been recognised I know my stuff.

Everyone who knows me will know this is an unconditional offer, I do it because they're my mates. One was even doing a networking course, offered to help (networking not my strong point but I knew more than enough for his exams). Never got back to me. Even offered help to #his# mate who I'd never met before because he mentioned he was doing an IT course and actually started asking me questions. Never got back to me.

No-one's taken me up on it.

Skills are about the most valuable thing you can get IME but no-one seems to be interested.

I don't get it. I'd have killed for this kind of help years ago, but nobody around me will take it off a silver plate.

So, why?

In anticipation: I don't push it, I've made the offer clearly a few times & left it at that. Others I've taught (mate's kid, some university work etc.) have said I'm good; it's not just my opinion.

1. jake Silver badge

Re: A puzzle, a question

The problem is that those born of TheNintendoGeneration[tm] want a magic pill. They want it now, and don't want to work at it.

I speak as a some-time College/Uni teacher.

1. BlueGreen

I'll not argue with you on that, Jake, but my mates are variously in their 30s, 40s, indeed some 50s. Like I said, a puzzle.

1. jake Silver badge