back to article Europe to probe state funding of new media

The European Commission will investigate public service broadcasting's use of new media to determine whether state aid to broadcasters is unfair to commercial competitors. The commission has said it will look into a 2001 set of rules on what subsidies countries are allowed to give to public sector broadcasters. It said an …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Stuart
    Alert

Will it undermine the BBC?

The BBC didn't get to be one of the highest rated sites in the world because of subsidy - just that it is the very best at what it does (well apart from the odd iPlayer debacle).

People who use mobile phones, PDA's etc see the difference between the BBC's level of professionalism and the rest. As a profesional web designer I have followed the BBC website for close on a decade and a half. It has been a reference for doing stuff well and moving on. Bit like in conventional broadcasting - it sets a standard for the competition to try and match (even occasionally exceed).

Without the BBC website - and particulary the news.bbc.co.uk - we would be poorly served by the inadequate ITV and the biased NI empire (just take a look at Fox News for fair and balanced reporting).

2. Dave

More misguided interference

In general the BBC has helped drive uptake of new technologies in its field. So they're effectively reducing the cost of entry for everyone else because the British public are prepared to buy the hardware if they can get their standard channels, meaning more hardware is produced and it gets cheaper. Trying to create a new market from scratch is not cheap.

3. Matt

BBC

I agree with Stuart that the design of the BBC site isn't bad. However, the standard of reporting is abysmal, the BBC has fallen a long way in my lifetime.

As for subsides, I'd rather have those than give Rupert Murdoch absolute sway over what we read in the news.

4. amanfromMars Silver badge

An Inconvenient Truth